• Wednesday Jan 03, 2018

    U.S. women’s training camp squad named

    2017 CONCACAF Female Player of the Year Alex Morgan (pictured) was named to the USA’s roster for a January 2018 training camp. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

    CHICAGO – United States women’s national team head coach Jill Ellis named Wednesday 26 players to the first training camp of 2018. The Americans will kick off the gathering at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, California, on January 6 and will conclude with an international friendly against Denmark on January 21 at San Diego County Credit Union Stadium.

    Twenty-two squad members earned a cap for the U.S. in 2017.

    "We are very much looking forward to getting the group back together," said Ellis. "We're expecting a competitive and highly energized camp in Los Angeles as we start this important year for the team. We have a few injuries, so we won't have 100% of our core together, but this stretch of testing, training, and a competitive match will provide a good platform to begin 2018."

    The side is highlighted by 134-time capped Alex Morgan, who was recently named the 2017 CONCACAF Female Player of the Year.

    Also meriting selection was Portland Thorns FC’s goalkeeper Adrianna Franch. The uncapped 27-year-old earned 2017 Goalkeeper of the Year honors in CONCACAF and the National Women’s Soccer League.


    GOALKEEPERS: Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

    DEFENDERS: Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage), Tierna Davidson (Stanford University), Sofia Huerta (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Kelley O'Hara (Utah Royals FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Taylor Smith (NC Courage), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

    MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Brian (Olympique Lyon/France), Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Andi Sullivan (Stanford University)

    FORWARDS: Crystal Dunn (Chelsea/England), Savannah McCaskill (University of South Carolina), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC), Lynn Williams (NC Courage)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Heiner-Moller selected to coach Canada women

Canada Soccer named Kenneth Heiner-Moller head coach of the women’s national team on Monday, replacing John Herdman, who was handed managerial reins of the men’s senior side the same evening.

USA’s Long cherishes successful 2017, but eager for more

A banner 2017 got even better for Allie Long in December.

Success in 2017 motivates Saprissa’s Barrantes to achieve more

When Saprissa forward Fernanda Barrantes was informed that her name was on the list for the 2017 CONCACAF Awards Female Best XI at the forward position, she wasn’t sure what to believe.

Mexico takes 21-player squad to Costa Rica for women’s friendly

Mexico women’s national team head coach Roberto Medina named a 21-player roster for Saturday’s international friendly at Costa Rica.

Costa Rica women look at Mexico clash as possible preview

With an eye on next year’s CONCACAF Women’s Championship – and the three guaranteed berths it offers to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup – Costa Rica will host Mexico in a friendly Saturday.